Tuesday, November 4, 2008

What The Hell Is Wrong With Malaysian Drivers?

I’m really pissed-off with the Malaysian drivers’ attitude and mentality. I don’t give a damn whether they were in their 20’s or 90’s some of them really drive their cars like a mule. It doesn’t matter, whether it’s a kancil or S-class Merc, there are always pinheads behind the wheels.


First, they like to swerve left to right or vise-versa without any regards to the next lane vehicle as if ‘Bapak gua punya jalan’. Yes, it’s ‘kepala hotak bapak ko punya jalan’. If I get the chance, I’m more thant happy to tell that to your dad. No signals, no anything, just change lane whenever their puny brain located at the end of their genitals instruct them to do. Dickheads….


Second, it’s ‘Me first’ mentality. Whenever the traffic is not moving as fast as they expected, they’ll start to squeeze their car through emergency lane, or any ‘celah bedah’ that they can squeeze through, as long as they can be in front of the queue. You know what…Fuck you queue jumpers, if guns are legal in this country, I’m pretty sure I’ll blow the f*$@ing brain out of your skull that instant.


Thirdly, ahh enough for today. I’m not going to burst my arteries just because of these dickheads on road.The moral of the story: no matter how long the drivers training is, how strict the exam will be, dickheads will always be dickheads.

Thursday, July 31, 2008

MERC FOR VISITING FOREIGN DIGNITARIES, SAYS PM

What a stupid idea isn't it? First thing first, this merc for state's exco is not something new. few mainstream newspaper also uncovered that since previous MB, Idris Jusoh also bought few merc for his states official...so jangan cakap banyak laa.

14 merc for foreign dignitaries is too many. Do you think those so-called foreign dignitaries will visit Terengganu as often as tourists visiting 5 star hotels in KL? I don' think so. So why dont' you just sell it back? With low mileage, nice numbers (yes, sell the numbers too), good resell value (it's merc!), now I sound like a car saleman...I strongly believe that those 14 merc would be selling like 'goreng pisang panas' on a cold rainy day. Well, of course you'll incur some loss, but few thousands vs RM3.43 million? do the maths, one unit of merc would cost you roughly 245K, let just take 20K per unit as depreciation by selling it. The value will drop by 225K, x 14=3.15 mil, loss of 280K, which is roughly 8.2% loss. RM280K vs useless RM3.43K, which is bigger? Tak pass SPM ke? Mind you I put 20K depreciation per unit, which is highly unlikely for a brand new low mileage merc! See? It's not that gloomy if you sell the car NOW!

In spite of this drama, after trying to substantiate the reasons for changing Perdana V6 to E-class, it uncovers all sorts of hanky-panky business done since previous MB up until now. When you claimed a car, in this case a NATIONAL car having an amazingly high maintenance charges, don't expect the 'accused' company to do nothing. Expect rains of bullets from them. These kind of claims will affect their business, can influence their future customer, so they'll not sit quietly and do nothing about this. They'll prove it to you that their maintenance charges is not exuberantly high as claimed by Terengganu govt. Now, why the charges is high? It seems like some people want to pocket some govt money, or rakyat money the easy way. Workshops charged more than usual-profit. workshops changed the parts not according to the recommended mileage-profit. Falsify claims on parts, buy the parts on govt expense and sell it to other customer-double profit. I can go on with the list but i think you already get the idea.

So get the BPR, police etc2 and prosecute them. We the rakyat want to see people who abuse the rakyat's money to be prosecuted and penalised.

But don't expect people to be distracted so long from this drama, hei we know that all this Anwar thing, Altantuya thing, Terengganu thing are just a diversion from the real issue. I still want you, pak dolah to resign. Period.

Monday, June 23, 2008

TNB board of directors push for TNB's CEO salary increment....dumb or dumber?

I'm very surprised and shocked when I read that TNB board of directors were pushing for TNB CEO salary hike at this time of current economic scenario. It was reported in B.Harian that the CEO earned RM1,107,280.00 per annum, about RM92273.33 per month, way too much for us normal 'rakyat' and they are still pushing for 100% increment. Read more HERE WTF? While the CEO enjoyed his 'Bold & Beautiful' lifestyle, everything paid by the company, the middle and low income earning TNB employees were only receiving 3% salary revision. Who suffers more...the employee or CEO? Fuel alone experienced 40% increase in price, while prices for other things such as raw food, etc2 are also increasing like there is no tomorrow. So what is 3% to them? Taking fuel alone into account, they are still experiencing deficit of (-37)% of income due to fuel price hike. Not considering the rest...rice, sugar, transportation, vegies....etc2...
And typical of GLCs and cronyism, Tan Sri Azman Mokhtar, CEO of Khazanah supported to increment, as 'Che Khalib performance is outstanding'. Which part is outstanding? I wish somebody can cast a spell so his penis really grow on his forehead, that'll be outstanding.
Electricity is not a luxury item anymore, it is a necessity. Seriously, we can't really live without electricity in these days. People need to use electricity whether you live in urban or rural areas, whether you are high income earners or the struggling low income earners, whether you are rich or poor. No exception there. So...simple logic says, if everybody need to use electricity, which TNB is the sole power provider in peninsular (with some independent power provider in Sabah & Sarawak), with the increase in size of population, which lead to more electricity usage and revenue for TNB, then why should an increase in TNB's revenue be a measuring stick for performance? It is a necessity!!!
I strongly disagree with the motion to increase TNB's CEO salary by 100%, which I think is bloody ridiculous and a waste of government money at this moment of time. It is our money, 'rakyat's money, our tax money that will be use for his more than 1 million RM salary. You the government give lot's and lot's of advice on how to spend less, how to spend our money wisely, how to save more money, but 100% increment of CEO's salary? If the government one day agree to that motion, I don't know what more to say...

Thursday, June 12, 2008

RAJAWALI TERBANG TINGGI



Terdengar gendang-genderang
Gema menghentam dada
Seluruh nusantara
Rentak yang sama

Pergolakan drama manusia
Masing-masing mahu buktikan
Kuat lemah

Langit mana pun sama
Bulan pun redha
Sinar bumi ayahku
Dan ayahmu jua

Gugur daun
Di telapak tangan
Terpijak ranting di jalanan
Aku rindu oh! kampungku

Aku tak mahu dijadikan hamba lagi
Aku tak mahu dijajah lagi
Biar terkubur jasad terbujur
Tak rela aku berpisah
Dari cintaku yang satu

Dan Rajawali terbang tinggi
Rajawali terbang tinggi... terbang

M. Nasir
©1988 Dunia Musik Wea Sdn. Bhd.

Friday, June 6, 2008

Fuel price hike...WTF?

The government has announced an increase in fuel price,RM1.92 to RM 2.70 for petrol & RM1.581 to RM2.581 for diesel. That's close to 42% increase. However subsidised diesel remain at RM1.431/ltr. The increase in subsidy of diesel shows an effort, however it may not prevent prices of consumer goods from increasing due to increase in logistic charges. Realistically, it may not help at all...so brace yourself for another round of inflation.

This increased reflects the global fuel price, which is totally outrageous due to speculation. Idris Jala, MAS CEO who was in the oil & gas industry (SHELL) before joining MAS reiterate that the current price is way to far from the actual value per barrel. No short supply of oil, it's just a game by speculators. Aren't you pissed?

What you'll hear again and again from the government will be "oh our price is still cheaper that our neighbours". Yes of course but our income per capita also hmm not that big. So definitely we are going to be affected in some way or another. The lower income group will definitely be hit hard from this.

Pak Lah again made a 'not so intelligent' remarks by encouraging everybody to use public transport more. Hellooo...remember the 'Tukun Bas' owned by SPNB, another GLC? Indirectly all the buses is owned by Kerajaan Malaysia. Our public transport system is way off from reliable and practical, and yet you want to encourage everybody to use our pathetic public transport? I think few thousands brain cells is missing from his brain. It's easier to said than done.

What we need is one reliable, efficient public transport nationwide. What is the use of nice looking RapidKL bus if it's driven by brainless drivers, who swerved from right to left, stopping whenever they think their dick ask them to stop, picking up passengers anywhere they think suits them, irrespective of the traffic chaos behind them caused by their dimwit driving style. Sure we have nice-looking buses roaming our streets, but with dick head drivers behind the wheel, it's close to useless. It'll caused one problem after another.

That's on the drivers, on the transport system alone, there is still lot's of room for improvement...look at the routes, increase the routes, increase the frequency, make it reliable for everybody to use it daily. Make it RELIABLE. Send the managers, directors to Adelaide, learn from Adelaide transport authority and replicate their system.

If the price hike is just another game by speculators, then we need to do something drastic so not to fell into their traps. Just look at our 96/97 economic crisis, sure almost every part of the world were affected, but some fell into IMF/World Bank trap, fell into those bloodsucking westerns and Jews tactic to crippled this small emerging countries economy. Some were hit damn hard, just look at Indonesia. They'll take lots and lots of years to recover. On another hand, we took drastic action at that time, we pegged US dollar to one value, and took enormous criticism from the groups that felt we singlehandedly throw their evil plan into the rubbish bin and put up our own system to get out from this crisis. We stayed on, take the hit, and in the end we see the light, we survived. Although it surely gave some impact, but as long as we are not at the bottom of the sea, we are still doing fine.

Now, can't we think of another way to get out from this crisis? I think there is a way with Petronas, but we need to be bold and shut our ears from outside critics for a while. Just do it, what important is we survive and we won't be the same as others. Don't join the groupies, that's what this western economic terrorist want it to happen... isn't it almost the same scenario as before? Think about it...

Chow!

Monday, May 26, 2008

Wings @ Planet Hollywood 25th May 2008


What more to say? A very good show indeed. Rugi to those who can't make it to their show. Wings was one of the band which climbed up the popularity ladder since I was in school. They made a debut with the album "Belenggu Irama" in 1987 and from there they've gain popularity as one of Malaysian top rock band from the late eighties till now. Their songs used to be in my list of songs to master during my guitar playing era, including Metallica, Cromok, XPDC, May, Search, Pearl Jam, etc2. I started playing guitar since 1989, but since 2003, I've put that on hold up until now...family, career, etc2 you know those things....but i'm rethinking to start it back again, buy new equipment...eghh tak boleh tahan ooo.

Thursday, May 22, 2008

RapidKL! What the hell is wrong with you?



Did you read the news in tuesday's Malay Mail on RapidKL dumped 1000 of their buses around Batang Kali and Sungai Buaya, leaving it rotted like scrap metals? What the hell is wrong with you guys? 1000 buses, mostly of imported models from Italy, and you just left it to rust like scrap metals? Which uni taught you this? business finance 101: if you can't get ROI from it, then sell it off...quickly! I've learned this the hard way sometime ago, I was pushing this idea of selling non-profitable assets to the directors but those twits decided to keep it, being optimistic hoping for angels to save them. In the end, I left them with their sinking boat. And they really sank! If you can't use it, you can't get ROI from it, then sell it...be it intact or to scrap metal buyers...get back your money, don't waste your time babysitting something that is not profitable. Cut your losses.
No wonder city commuters are having hard time getting to their destination on time, complaining that not enough buses servicing their route, buses not in good conditions..yadda yadda. Well...if you read the malay mail report on the RapidKL Buses Cemetery, then you'll understand. What sort of management are you... with current inventory reaching 2000, with 1000 buses left to rust, and leaving 1000 on the streets, with 300 constantly in workshop for maintenance? I think it's the time for BPR to investigate those twits in RapidKL...something dodgy is going on, and we demand and explanation as RapidKL is 100% govt owned company under the Ministry of Finance. Somebody need to do the explanation. Their plan is to sell those buses to maybe 3rd world country, hoping that they can 'rehabilitate' the buses. But seriously, who wants to buy rusted, rotted buses? 1000 of them?? Do you think they are capable to repair to buses to be roadworthy? I don't think so...Then I think that is a very lame excuse.

Monday, May 12, 2008

Happy Mothers' Day..

To all mothers out there, I salute you for your courage, strength, determination, enthusiasm, resourcefulness, hardship, struggle, pain, suffering, success, etc2.....

All that I am, or hope to be, I owe to my angel mother. - Abraham Lincoln

A mother's arms are made of tenderness and children sleep soundly in them. - Victor Hugo

No man succeeds without a good woman behind him. Wife or mother, if it is both, he is twice blessed indeed. - Harold MacMillan

Tuesday, May 6, 2008

On Very Unusual Tag


Oi gila aku nak cari benda merah aku pakai! This is on Jingga Studies blog on Very Unusual Tag Anyway...orange adik beradik merah kan...heheh check the colour chart la....this is not something that I wear, or I own, but something that I see almost everyday (if...big IF I came back from work EARLY...or during weekends la) from our place....nahhh dushh!

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

On Food Poisoning at Schools

NST on Wednesday 23 April reported another incident of food poisoning at Sekolah Kebangsaan Taman Dato Harun 1, PJ involving 120 pupils. The culprit? Food from the canteen.

I think most of us already felt sick and annoyed to hear about food poisoning cases at schools for the past few months. It has been accepted as normal incidence for canteen operator and school administrators. The worse part is, majority of the cases were caused by food prepared on site. What is wrong with this? Are food safety and hygiene is not being practiced at all in the schools kitchen? Or to be more realistic, do the operators know, understand and practice food safety and personal hygiene while handling food for the kids? Knowing and attending compulsory courses conducted by local councils seems to be inadequate for them. Masuk telinga kanan, keluar telinga kiri. Pick one school of your choice, ask one of the canteen operators, have they heard about E. Coli, Salmonella, taun etc2? Most of the time you'll get a blank face as if you are speaking German.

On another note, should we revisit the local council roles in ensuring that these operators do have basic knowledge of the cause of food poisoning and ways to prevent it from happening? All food handlers must be vaccinated for typhoid, but some of these operators were not even vaccinated. Don't believe me? Ask them to show the proof of vaccination. Not all of the workers has been vaccinated. Some local council also make it compulsory for business involving food served to the public to attend short courses on food safety and hygiene. But...if they really attend those courses, why we are still seeing food poisoning cases one after another? It is just a BASIC training, but it is enough for TOM, DICK and HARRY to understand and practice what they've learned from the course. They don't need to understand and know that E.Coli is a gram negative, anaerobic bacteria. But yet they failed to understand the importance of food safety and hygiene!! Or....do local council really do their job in enforcing, do random checking on all food joints for signs of failure to comply to food safety practice? I rarely see them doing health safety inspections nowadays. You'll see more of them giving fines to traffic offenders than fines to food joints. Of course la...kedai mamak or restaurants or even canteen can give them free meals to avoid any actions from them, but we, traffic user can't give them anything. Just headache to them. Is this true? Come to your own conclusion...

What if your kid or even you yourself being struck by food poisoning due to others negligence?
I'll be pissed. You'll miss your work, your kid will miss his/her school, worst is he/she might be hospitalised for severe fluid loss from diarrhoea and vomiting with unbearable stomach pain, and worst will be death. Do you want this to happen again? Not me.

From now on, everybody should take the responsibility, big responsibility. Local council, act fast, do frequent health safety inspection, enforce on strict procedures for food outlet to get their licenses by making compulsory for them to attend short courses on food safety. Canteen operators, please comply to the food safety and hygiene. Take it lightly and I hope we will enact new acts to punish these errant food handlers/canteen operators. Punishment should be hard enough to give them a lesson. Teachers/school administration...take this issue seriously. Punish, suspend, or even terminate those canteen operators who disregard the public safety. This is not the time anymore for heart-to-heart discussion with these canteen operators. We mean business, and wrongdoing must be punished!

Monday, April 21, 2008

Sports Nation


Last weekend was quite a good weekend for us. We went to Padang UTM Jln Semarak to watch KRS Premiere League Finals on Saturday. My kid really enjoyed it, although for me it was just a time to catch up with my friends, seniors and juniors from SAS. FYI, ASAS won 17-5 vs COBRA BLACKS. Congrates ASAS! Afiq & I went for a quick swim on Sunday morning at the pool at our place, while my wife went for hill-climbing at Bukit Melawati with her office mates. Weekends full of activities!

That remind me of our sweet memories while in Australia. Sports in Australia is popular and widespread. Australia seems to be the sports and outdoor activity capital of the world. Flip through the newspaper and you'll find an event to go during the weekend. From motorsports, footy, rugby, just name it. What more important is, they enjoy the sports as a family. It's the time for the family to spend time together, it's the time for friends to enjoy their weekend, it's the spirit of the sports that bring them together. Do we share the same spirit in Malaysia? Well, to certain extent. We need to work harder to be at the same level as them. We need to go out more. Enjoy outdoors! Yes bring your kid, bring your family out to the field, and let them experience the adrenaline rush watching the teams fighting for scores. Let them feel for the game. Spend less time at the shopping malls...what's the point of window shopping? Yea you don't need to tell me that kids do enjoy browsing though the toys section. Mine too but trust me, they'll enjoy more by being outdoor, they'll appreciate more about sports, about team spirit, about spending time with family. And hopefully they'll do the same with their family later in their life. Bring our sports to a higher level, true.. the athletes should do their parts, train harder, perform better, but we can help them by cultivating 'sports culture' in our country. We can discover more excellent athletes when we have a large pool of athletes to choose from. Get out more!

Thursday, April 17, 2008

Price Hike again!!

I saw the news on the price of rice, flour even mee....everything will go up. What the @#$%?? Let us look at this in a simple way...let's talk about rice first..Malaysia is not a nett importer country for rice, so we do produce our own rice towards certain extent. According to NST, we do have enough supply for rice until September, from import and locally produced. This is due to the Rice Stockpile Policy. We only import up to 30% of the total rice stock. 30%! So why the price hike? If it's due to the imports, then we should be more strict in regulating the imports. We need to give priority to our local agri product than the imports. Who'll get the benefit from the increase imported rice price? Importers. Will the gain in profit from the sale of imported rice benefited the rakyat? NO. We will suffer, the big importer companies will get the profit, or to be nice to them, marginal or no impact from the higher rice market price worldwide by increasing their margins and asking us, the consumer to absorb 100% of the price hike by passing the burden to pay the extras to us. Average Abu (well Joe Blogg does not really sound local isn't it?) out there will need to fork out more every month to feed his family. Does this do justice to us?
Mind you, if we did not control the trivial issue of rising cost of life from now, then just imagine the worst at the end of the tunnel. Definitely Abu will someday ask for a payrise as his current pay can't really get him and his family through the month. That's the vicious cycle we need to prevent from rolling fast like the wheel of F1 car.
Mind you the government did mentioned that the price of Super Spesial Tempatan 15% (SST) will not rise, but what is the percentage of national consumption for the SST? 10-30%. Trust me, next time you go to kedai mamak, and order an extra plate of rice, you'll be charged more than usual. "Harga beras naik la boss", that's the expected answer from the mamak. The total bill for your standard meal will cost you more, isn't it? If food industry uses SST, the consumption rate won't be 15%, right? Just do simple maths, drive through your neighbourhood area, do a quick survey on number of food stalls, restaurants, food joints etc2. Just come up with a gross figure of people who order rice variants, from nasi goreng, nasi campur, etc2, & you'll definitely know that those 15% does not come from the food industry. Think for yourself....
We need more radical policy to nurture and cultivate our local agri industry. We should at least be self-sufficient in certain product, while maintaining good balance between importing and exporting our own agri products. Having read Dr Amin Mahir Abdullah, the Agri-business and Management Policy laboratory head for UPMs Agriculture and food Policy Research Institute (IKDPM) comments on the newly developed strain, MRQ74 or “Mas Wangi” in 2005 which is on par with the Thai fragrant rice, is considered "not being able to compete in the market" by our local market or by other authority is very sickening and heart wrenching. To change market perspective on local products is tough, but if the regulation is there to highlight our product more in the market rather than the imports, by simple economic law we can deduced that we will definitely see an increased in sales for local products. Saturate the market, numb the customer with ads or increased the visibility factor on the local products, make it mandatory for hypermarkets to display it, educate them, do whatever you like under the sun to increase the sale, then one day we will see 'Mas Wangi' as something we will buy over the imports. Don't you think?

Monday, April 14, 2008

I'm Back!















I'm Back! After a long hiatus from photography, I'm definitely back from long hibernation. Yes, I've migrated to Kwanon, which is hmmm...OK la, not bad. But L lens? One word to describe it..Fantastico! Seriously, give it a try, & you'll appreciate it. I know I am.

For the rest of my daily photo bullshit...you can view it HERE

Phototalk By Zainal Abdul Halim & Bazuki Mohammad















View more details HERE