Monday, June 23, 2008

TNB board of directors push for TNB's CEO salary increment....dumb or dumber?

I'm very surprised and shocked when I read that TNB board of directors were pushing for TNB CEO salary hike at this time of current economic scenario. It was reported in B.Harian that the CEO earned RM1,107,280.00 per annum, about RM92273.33 per month, way too much for us normal 'rakyat' and they are still pushing for 100% increment. Read more HERE WTF? While the CEO enjoyed his 'Bold & Beautiful' lifestyle, everything paid by the company, the middle and low income earning TNB employees were only receiving 3% salary revision. Who suffers more...the employee or CEO? Fuel alone experienced 40% increase in price, while prices for other things such as raw food, etc2 are also increasing like there is no tomorrow. So what is 3% to them? Taking fuel alone into account, they are still experiencing deficit of (-37)% of income due to fuel price hike. Not considering the rest...rice, sugar, transportation, vegies....etc2...
And typical of GLCs and cronyism, Tan Sri Azman Mokhtar, CEO of Khazanah supported to increment, as 'Che Khalib performance is outstanding'. Which part is outstanding? I wish somebody can cast a spell so his penis really grow on his forehead, that'll be outstanding.
Electricity is not a luxury item anymore, it is a necessity. Seriously, we can't really live without electricity in these days. People need to use electricity whether you live in urban or rural areas, whether you are high income earners or the struggling low income earners, whether you are rich or poor. No exception there. So...simple logic says, if everybody need to use electricity, which TNB is the sole power provider in peninsular (with some independent power provider in Sabah & Sarawak), with the increase in size of population, which lead to more electricity usage and revenue for TNB, then why should an increase in TNB's revenue be a measuring stick for performance? It is a necessity!!!
I strongly disagree with the motion to increase TNB's CEO salary by 100%, which I think is bloody ridiculous and a waste of government money at this moment of time. It is our money, 'rakyat's money, our tax money that will be use for his more than 1 million RM salary. You the government give lot's and lot's of advice on how to spend less, how to spend our money wisely, how to save more money, but 100% increment of CEO's salary? If the government one day agree to that motion, I don't know what more to say...

Thursday, June 12, 2008

RAJAWALI TERBANG TINGGI



Terdengar gendang-genderang
Gema menghentam dada
Seluruh nusantara
Rentak yang sama

Pergolakan drama manusia
Masing-masing mahu buktikan
Kuat lemah

Langit mana pun sama
Bulan pun redha
Sinar bumi ayahku
Dan ayahmu jua

Gugur daun
Di telapak tangan
Terpijak ranting di jalanan
Aku rindu oh! kampungku

Aku tak mahu dijadikan hamba lagi
Aku tak mahu dijajah lagi
Biar terkubur jasad terbujur
Tak rela aku berpisah
Dari cintaku yang satu

Dan Rajawali terbang tinggi
Rajawali terbang tinggi... terbang

M. Nasir
©1988 Dunia Musik Wea Sdn. Bhd.

Friday, June 6, 2008

Fuel price hike...WTF?

The government has announced an increase in fuel price,RM1.92 to RM 2.70 for petrol & RM1.581 to RM2.581 for diesel. That's close to 42% increase. However subsidised diesel remain at RM1.431/ltr. The increase in subsidy of diesel shows an effort, however it may not prevent prices of consumer goods from increasing due to increase in logistic charges. Realistically, it may not help at all...so brace yourself for another round of inflation.

This increased reflects the global fuel price, which is totally outrageous due to speculation. Idris Jala, MAS CEO who was in the oil & gas industry (SHELL) before joining MAS reiterate that the current price is way to far from the actual value per barrel. No short supply of oil, it's just a game by speculators. Aren't you pissed?

What you'll hear again and again from the government will be "oh our price is still cheaper that our neighbours". Yes of course but our income per capita also hmm not that big. So definitely we are going to be affected in some way or another. The lower income group will definitely be hit hard from this.

Pak Lah again made a 'not so intelligent' remarks by encouraging everybody to use public transport more. Hellooo...remember the 'Tukun Bas' owned by SPNB, another GLC? Indirectly all the buses is owned by Kerajaan Malaysia. Our public transport system is way off from reliable and practical, and yet you want to encourage everybody to use our pathetic public transport? I think few thousands brain cells is missing from his brain. It's easier to said than done.

What we need is one reliable, efficient public transport nationwide. What is the use of nice looking RapidKL bus if it's driven by brainless drivers, who swerved from right to left, stopping whenever they think their dick ask them to stop, picking up passengers anywhere they think suits them, irrespective of the traffic chaos behind them caused by their dimwit driving style. Sure we have nice-looking buses roaming our streets, but with dick head drivers behind the wheel, it's close to useless. It'll caused one problem after another.

That's on the drivers, on the transport system alone, there is still lot's of room for improvement...look at the routes, increase the routes, increase the frequency, make it reliable for everybody to use it daily. Make it RELIABLE. Send the managers, directors to Adelaide, learn from Adelaide transport authority and replicate their system.

If the price hike is just another game by speculators, then we need to do something drastic so not to fell into their traps. Just look at our 96/97 economic crisis, sure almost every part of the world were affected, but some fell into IMF/World Bank trap, fell into those bloodsucking westerns and Jews tactic to crippled this small emerging countries economy. Some were hit damn hard, just look at Indonesia. They'll take lots and lots of years to recover. On another hand, we took drastic action at that time, we pegged US dollar to one value, and took enormous criticism from the groups that felt we singlehandedly throw their evil plan into the rubbish bin and put up our own system to get out from this crisis. We stayed on, take the hit, and in the end we see the light, we survived. Although it surely gave some impact, but as long as we are not at the bottom of the sea, we are still doing fine.

Now, can't we think of another way to get out from this crisis? I think there is a way with Petronas, but we need to be bold and shut our ears from outside critics for a while. Just do it, what important is we survive and we won't be the same as others. Don't join the groupies, that's what this western economic terrorist want it to happen... isn't it almost the same scenario as before? Think about it...

Chow!